Hello

I’m a little scared.

The last time I tried something like this was back in late 2008 and early 2009. My wife Kristy had been fighting leukaemia for only a few months and we had no idea what we were getting into.

It’s still up. Over here, in fact. Four posts: a first post, a post about cancer, a dirty joke and a deeply TMI post went up before I fled into the night. I still like the name – 8-Track Mind – but I got a lot of backchannel crap from people angry because I never talked about eight-track tapes.

I tried a video blog after that called Out of the Doghouse, focusing on de-cluttering my life. I finished the de-cluttering (mostly) but left off the vlog after only a few months. It’s still up too, over here. I do hope to get back to it. I loved the format. It was just a lot of work.

I haven’t done anything really creative in years. After high school, and failing to get good enough grades to get into pharmacy, I went through journalism school, in the idea that I could do what I loved – write – and get paid for it.

I had no idea that A) the life of a journalist is a tough and underpaid one and 2) that the journalistic field would implode in the way it has in the years since. When I got a glimpse of the reality I ran to the web, and spent a few years building Internet content.

I’ve since slowly moved away from content creation. While Kristy fought the cancer, I let my career idle. Go wherever they wanted me. Slowly the job current pushed me away from the web, away from what I enjoyed until I found myself coordinating IT software projects. It’s a good job with excellent pay and benefits, but I’m just not happy.

Kristy is doing well, and she can tell you all about it in her own words. But I’m not. There are days when I’m desperately unhappy, and don’t know what to do with myself.

Today I finished reading Wil Wheaton’s Just A Geek. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it. It’s all about how he realized he too was desperately unhappy with how his life was going and finally realized he was the only one who could change it.

I thought about that for a while. Then I grabbed a sticky note and wrote, “How many words have you written today?” on it. And it made me happy.

So. 433 words so far. Let’s see how many more we can get.

About shuffledog

40+ stepfather and husband. King of the geeks.

Posted on July 16, 2013, in Meta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

